The contrast between what the rest of Iowa looks like and what the Driftless Area presents is remarkable.[41] For counties inland from the Mississippi, the evidence is largely confined to the valleys of streams and rivers. It encompasses all of Allamakee, and part of Clayton, Fayette, Delaware, Winneshiek, Howard, Dubuque, and Jackson counties. Dubuque is the only metropolitan area.

The region is distinct from the "Iowan Erosion Surface to the west and the Southern Iowa Drift Plain to the south."[12] A line east of the most easterly tributaries of the Wapsipinicon River defines the terminal moraine that marks the western boundary of the Driftless, with the catchment of the Maquoketa River serving as a southern boundary. The most western tributaries of the Upper Iowa, Yellow and Turkey Rivers flow east and south from the vicinity of this moraine.

                                                    7/20/2019- Even Hootie and Blowfish came to Iowa this week!

                                                                         With "Barenaked Ladies" as backup